FilmL.A. Board Elections Held – New Leaders to Take Reins in 2012

FilmLAProduction AlertsLeave a Comment

In late November, the FilmL.A. Board of Directors held its annual election.  Acting on the recommendations of its nominating subcommittee, the board voted unanimously to extend the service terms of three of its members, name three new members to the board and appoint a new slate of officers and executive committee for 2012.

Current FilmL.A. Board Chair Ed Duffy, a Business Agent for Teamsters Local 399, was thanked for his service to the organization and enduring commitment to improving the Los Angeles film production environment.  In 2012, Duffy will be hand the reins over to Bill Allen, president and CEO of the Los Angeles Economic Development Corporation, a tireless advocate for local economic growth and job creation.

FilmL.A. is governed by an all-volunteer, 30-member board of directors, which includes entertainment industry executives, labor and trade representatives and local community leaders.  Members are chosen based on their experience and ability to represent the interests of these three key groups of area stakeholders.

Named to a new 3-year term of service were Barry Greenberg (Industry), Dan Swartz (Community) and Mel Kohn (Community).  Barry Jossen (Industry, ABC/Disney), Steve Nissen (Industry, NBCUniversal) joined the board as new members, and former FilmL.A. board member Dr. Allan Boodnick (Community, Ladera Heights) rejoined the board after an extended absence.  Longtime member Pete Corral (Industry, Columbia Pictures) retired from the board following an 8-year term of service.

In addition to Bill Allen as chair, the 2012 FilmL.A. Board officers include Leron Gubler (Community, Hollywood) as first vice chair, Michael Miller (Labor, IATSE) as vice chair of finance and David Phelps (industry, AICP) as board secretary.  Jean Prewitt (industry, IFTA) will continue in her service as audit subcommittee chair for 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *