Register Today for LA2021: Future of Creative Talent Summit Series

FilmLAFor Communities, For Filmmakers

The Film, Television and Digital Media industries are crucial to Los Angeles County’s identity and economy, and will be integral in its economic recovery during and after the COVID-19 crisis.

The LA2021 Future of Creative Talent Summit Series — produced by The County of Los Angeles Chief Executive Office in partnership with Beacon Economics — will be an online venture held across two virtual summits throughout 2021. The Summit Series was born from a board motion by L.A. County Supervisors Sheila Kuehl and Mark Ridley-Thomas in 2018. A single in-person forum planned for September 2020 was rescheduled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The series launches at a crucial moment as the Film, Television, and Digital Media industry ramps back up following unprecedented disruption and will play a vital role in supporting the region’s economic recovery and long-term growth.

The Summit Series will bring together high-profile speakers (see below for a partial list) from across industries to optimize Los Angeles County’s resources and support our diverse creative ecosystem and exceptionally deep talent pool.

The first event will take place on April 21, 2021 from 8:00a to 12:30p, and utilize The Virtual Show platform.

Tickets are $20 per participant, plus a small Eventbrite fee.

Panel topics will include:

  • Impact of COVID-19 on Los Angeles’ Entertainment Industry: A discussion about the industry’s landscape following pandemic-related workforce reductions.
  • Future of Screen Industries in Los Angeles: An examination of the evolving film and digital workforce in the era of remote work.
  • Diversifying in Disruption: A spotlight on inclusive leadership and industry efforts to expand and promote diversity.

Participants will include:

L.A. County Supervisors Hilda L. SolisHolly MitchellSheila KuehlJanice Hahn, and Kathryn Barger
Fesia Davenport, LA County Chief Executive Officer
Dr. Barbara Ferrer, Director, L.A. County Department of Public Health
Mayor Eric Garcetti, City of Los Angeles
California State Senator Ben Allen, Chair, Senate Joint Committee on the Arts
Frances Fisher, Actress
Jason George, Actor
Gabrielle Carteris, President, SAG-AFTRA
Latasha Gillespie, Executive Head of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Amazon Studios
Christine Simmons, Chief Operating Officer, Academy of Motion Pictures and Sciences
Louis Santor, Chief Operating Officer, Village Roadshow Entertainment Group
Duncan Crabtree-Ireland, Chief Operating Officer & General Counsel, SAG-AFTRA
Frances Anderton, Host, KCRW FM
Derek Huoth, General Counsel, Tastemade
Melissa Patack, Vice President, State Government Affairs, Motion Picture Association of America
Kerri Wood Einertson, Senior Director, Public Policy & Government Affairs, SAG-AFTRA
Adam J. Fowler, Director of Research, Beacon Economics, LLC
Montea Robinson, Executive Director (LA), Ghetto Film School
Michael F. Miller, 4th International Vice President & Department Director, Motion Picture & TV Production, IATSE