New Faces for FilmL.A. Board in 2013

FilmLAProduction AlertsLeave a Comment

FilmL.A.’s Board of Directors has new leadership for 2013.

Last December, acting on the recommendations of its nominating subcommittee, the board voted unanimously to extend the service terms of six of its members, name two new members to the board and appoint a new slate of officers and executive committee.

FilmL.A. is governed by an all-volunteer board of directors, which includes entertainment industry executives, labor and trade representatives and local community leaders.  Members are chosen based on their experience and ability to represent the interests of these three key groups of area stakeholders.

Outgoing Board Chair Bill Allen, President and CEO of the Los Angeles County Economic Development Corporation (LAEDC), was thanked at the board’s last meeting for his service and leadership, particularly as it pertained to  the promulgation of the California Film Commission’s new Model Filming Ordinance and Best Practices.

Leron Gubler was named board chair for 2013.  Gubler serves as President and CEO of the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce.  Under Gubler’s leadership the Chamber provides advocacy, business development resources, networking, and government affairs programs and services “to keep the Hollywood business and residential communities safe, relevant and economically vital.”

Named to a new 3-year term of service were Bill Allen (Community), Leron Gubler (Community), Mike Miller (Labor), Jean Prewitt (Industry), Richard Prince (Industry) and Veronique Vowell (Industry).  Bruce Doering (Labor, Cinematographers Guild) and Anthony Pawluc (Labor, IATSE Local 44) joined the board as new members, while former board chair Pamm Fair (Community, Woodland Hills) retired from the board following an accomplished term of service.

In addition to Leron Gubler as chair, the 2013 FilmL.A. Board officers include Steve Nissen (Industry) as vice chair, Eileen Ige-Wong (Industry) as treasurer and David Phelps (Industry) as board secretary.  Jean Prewitt will continue in her service as audit subcommittee chair for 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *