New Faces for FilmL.A. Board of Directors in 2014

FilmLAProduction Alerts1 Comment

FilmL.A.’s Board of Directors has new leadership for 2014.

Last December, acting on the recommendations of its nominating subcommittee, the board voted unanimously to extend the service terms of thirteen of its members, name four new members to the board and appoint a new slate of officers and executive committee.

FilmL.A. is governed by an all-volunteer board of directors, which includes entertainment industry executives, labor and trade representatives and local community leaders.  Members are chosen based on their experience and ability to represent the interests of these three key groups of area stakeholders.

Outgoing Board Chair Leron Gubler, President and CEO of the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce, was thanked at the board’s last meeting for his service and leadership.

Steve Nissen was named board chair for 2014.  Nissen serves as Senior Vice President, Legal and Government Affairs. for NBCUniversal.  There, he is primarily responsible for developing and coordinating a comprehensive nationwide state and local government agenda, including anti-piracy, intellectual property protection, tax, digital, broadcast, film
production and government compliance.

Named to new 3-year terms of service were Jay Carson (Community), Thom Davis (Labor), Ed Duffy (Labor), Judy Frank (Community), Glenn Gainor (Industry), Eileen Ige-Wong (Industry), Mark Indig (Industry), Bruce Margolis (Industry), Paul Nawrocki (Community), David Phelps (Industry), Lisa Rawlins (Industry), Regina Render (Labor) and Bill Thomas (Industry).

Jim Bouvet (Industry, Radical Media), Katie Jones-Badami (Community, Windsor Square), Angie McCabe (Community, LBA Realty) and Ilyanne Morden Kichaven (Labor, SAG-AFTRA) joined the board as new members, while Linda Alexander (Community), John Johnston (Industry), David White (Labor) and Ted Wolfberg (Community) retired from the board following accomplished terms of service.

In addition to Steve Nissen as chair, the 2014 FilmL.A. Board officers include Thom Davis (Labor) as vice chair,Eileen Ige-Wong (Industry) as treasurer and David Phelps (Industry) as board secretary.  Jean Prewitt will continue in her service as audit subcommittee chair for 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *