FilmL.A.’s Board of Directors Includes New Leaders for 2017

FilmLAProduction AlertsLeave a Comment

Last December, acting on the recommendation of its nominating committee, the FilmL.A. board of directors voted unanimously to extend the service terms of thirteen of its members, name four new members to the board and appoint a new slate of officers and executive committee.

FilmL.A. is governed by an all-volunteer board of directors, which includes entertainment industry executives, labor and trade representatives and local community leaders.  Members are chosen based on their experience and ability to represent the interests of these three key groups of area stakeholders.

Outgoing Board Chair Jean Prewitt, president & CEO of IFTA, was thanked at the board’s last meeting for her service and leadership, as were retiring board members Dr. Allan Booknick (Community), Bruce Margolis (Industry) and Dan Swartz (Community).

William Thomas was named FilmL.A. board chair for 2017. Thomas serves as chief executive officer of William Thomas Consulting. He has been an artist advocate for more than 30 years, serving as director of public affairs and chief of staff for music licensing organization ASCAP for 14 years, followed by a decade in senior executive roles for artist unions SAG-AFTRA, the American Federation of Musicians, and the Art Directors Guild.

Named to new 3-year terms of service were Jim Bouvet (Industry), Ed Duffy (Labor), Thom Davis (Labor), Judy Frank (Community), Glenn Gainor (Industry), Kathy Garmezy (Labor), Eileen Ige-Wong (Industry), Mark Indig (Industry), Ilyanne Morden Kichaven (Labor), Angie McCabe (Community), Paul Nawrocki (Community), David Phelps (Industry) and William Thomas (Industry).  Suzanne Holley (Community), MaryAnn Hughes (Industry), Katie Jones (Community) and Teri Schwartz (Community) are new to the board also.

In addition to William Thomas as chair, the 2017 FilmL.A. Board officers include Kim Roberts (Industry) as vice chair, Bruce Doering (Industry) as treasurer and Ed Duffy as board secretary.  Judy Frank will serve as audit committee chair for 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *